Meet the Folklife Family

Since the New Year is just around the corner, we wanted to introduce you to one of our lovely ladies, who helps Folklife tick. Please welcome Christina Halverson, the Assistant Volunteer Coordinator! In her own words, here’s what she has to say about Northwest Folklife:

This spring, I’m absolutely thrilled to join the Northwest Folklife staff as the Assistant Volunteer Coordinator.  I grew up in Seattle and the Northwest Folklife Festival has been a part of my life since before I can remember. I’ve always had an interest in event planning, and started volunteering in the office a few years ago by helping out with administrative tasks in preparation for the Festival.

I’ve volunteered for Folklife because I believe exposure to other cultures, arts and traditions are vital to understanding one another and crucial in allowing us to live in such a diverse world.  After volunteering at Folklife for the Festival, I knew immediately I wanted to be more involved with the organization because they do just that: bring communities together.  Therefore, this past October I applied for the Fall Events Intern and started working with the Marketing and Development staff for A Night For Folklife events– a series of fall fundraisers that raise essential funds for the organization.

Now that my work as an intern is waning down, I’m already excited to join the staff in February to help produce the 40th Festival. Folklife has provided me with a plethora of knowledge and experience; I can’t wait to see what these next few months bring!

See you at the Festival,

Christina

Explore posts in the same categories: Just for Fun

Tags: ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

3 Comments on “Meet the Folklife Family”

  1. Kristina Says:

    Yay!

  2. Kelli Says:

    Sweet mug shot!

  3. Beth aka Squeaks Says:

    Great pic, Christina!


Comments are closed.


