Smithsonian Folkways

So I was doing my netizen duty, voting for the Buffy vs Edward mashup over on the Webby People’s Voice Awards page (I know, I know – a pop culture reference on a folkie blog!), when I found out that the Smithsonian Folkways site is a contender in the cultural institutions category!

Lead Belly

You want songs from the Civil Rights movement?  You got it.  Classic Appalachian Blues?  Uh-huh.  Brazilian protest songs?  Yessirree.  Woody Guthrie, Hazel Dickens and Lead Belly?  Check, check and check.   And that’s just barely scratching the surface.

Head on over to the website and get lost for hours, what with the blog and the podcasts and the streaming audio…

Explore posts in the same categories: Just for Fun

Tags: , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

2 Comments on “Smithsonian Folkways”

  1. Kristina Says:

    Nice post (though you might have lead me more to the mashup than the steaming).

  2. Erin Doherty Says:

    Hey, today’s pop culture is tomorrow’s folk tradition…


Comments are closed.


