Win tickets to Black Prairie @ The Tractor!

Black Prairie

Seriously, folks: this one’s a doozy. Black Prairie (if you don’t already know) is a side project featuring a few members of the Decemberists – specifically Jenny Conlee, Chris Funk, and Nate Query. Portland musicians Jon Neufeld and Annalisa Tornfelt join them and the result is some of the most gorgeous folk you’ve ever heard. By turns dark and dreamy then foot-tappin’ and knee-slappin’, this is modern folk at its finest.

Sadly, I can’t seem to link directly to a song, but just click through directly to their MySpace and have a listen.

Opening for Black Prairie is Mimicking Birds, a trio that turns out lovely melodies featuring the pretty and vulnerable voice of lead singer/songwriter Nate Lacey.

I’m strongly tempted to just keep these 2 tickets to myself, but no – I offer them instead to a random commenter on this here blog. Winner to be chosen Tuesday at noon, so comment now for your chance to win!

Black Prairie, Mimicking Birds
Saturday, April 3 | 9:30pm
Tractor Tavern | $12

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

10 Comments on “Win tickets to Black Prairie @ The Tractor!”

  1. Doug Hayman Says:

    Sounds like a fun show. Thanks for the scoop. Hope I win the tickets. :~>

  2. Chandra Thornburg Says:

    I’m excited to listen to these guys I’ve been to two decemberists concerts and they’re awesome! My boyfriend is an even bigger fan!

  3. Jenny Says:

    I was just telling my boyfriend that we need to go see a show at The Tractor soon (he’s new to the area), and then I saw this lovely gem on my FB wall today. We both ❤ The Decemberists too!


  4. My GF is a big fan, would love to go.

  5. Amanda Rudd Says:

    This sounds like such a fun show! I need a good concert on my horizon.

  6. Mitch Swan Says:

    Recent fan of the Decemberists via a Sarah Jarosz cover of “Shankill Butchers”. Would love to see Black Prairie!

  7. Damien Desormier Says:

    This sounds like it’s really worth seeing, hopefully they play folklife this year!
    (and hopefully I win those tickets!!)

  8. Lo Says:

    Wow! Just listened to the songs posted on their myspace page. What an eerily powerful and wonderful sound. Love the Decemberists, and this is like a grown up and more refined version of them. Just a lovely sound. Would love to see them live, and especially at The Tractor!

  9. miles Says:

    Never heard of the project but the music sounds great!

  10. Scott Shultis Says:

    Last minute entry?


Comments are closed.


